Alan McCluskey’s Novels

Alan McCluskey’s Novels

All Alan McCluskey’s books are about the self-empowerment of the young, girls in particular, in a world that tends to curtail their opportunities, belittle their abilities and discourage them from doing great things. His books also explore the difficulties of those whose gender and sexuality lie beyond the dominant binary divide between boy and girl. His goal in writing fiction is to imagine inspiring ways forward, despite the difficulties thrown in the way of these young people.

The Boy & Girl Saga

The Boy & Girl Saga tells the tale of Peter, a young boy who dresses and lives as a girl, and Kate, the exiled daughter of a magician from another world. From their chance encounter blossoms a deepening friendship thanks to which they uncover a number of shared gifts, notably the ability to heal. The two also discover they have a talent for leadership as they gather others around them in their struggles to right wrongs and fend off the attacks of adults bent on curbing the freedom of young girls.

1. Boy & Girl (2012/2014/2020)
2. In Search of Lost Girls (2014/2020)
3. We Girls (2020)

Stories People Tell

Stories People Tell (2018)
Local Voices (2021)

Recent or Coming Releases

Chimera (2019)
The Cloud Catcher (2021)
Bursting with Life! (2021)

The Storyteller’s Quest

1. The Reaches (2011)
2. The Keeper’s Daughter (2011)
3. The Starless Square {2016)
4. World of Tales (unpublished)
5. Forget Me Not (in draft)

Other unpublished novels

People of the Forest (in draft)
Twisted Paths (unpublished)
Storyfolk (unpublished)